Prowlers Sweep Thunder, Clinch Playoffs

The Port Huron Prowlers swept the Delaware Thunder at McMorran Place, taking the series finale 8-3. With the win, Port Huron clinches the 2023 Commissioner’s Cup Playoffs.

Matt Stoia opened the scoring when he stepped into the offensive zone and went bar down just over five minutes in. Dan Chartrand double the lead off the rush and Alex Johnson made it 3-0 1:20 later.

Rocco DiCostanzo got the Thunder on the board with a power play goal in the second but the Prowlers responded 4 minutes later. Johnson threw a shot through traffic that beat Spencer Kozlowski and Sam Gagnon added to the lead with a wrap-around goal.

Marquis Grant-Mentis answered for Delaware and DiCostanzo added his second power-play goal of the night to make it 5-3 Port Huron heading into the third.

Sam Marit gave the Prowlers some breathing room just under five minutes into the final frame, potting a rebound past Kozlowski. Gagnon added his second and Dalton Jay put the cherry on top off a back-door pass from Johnson.

Johnson and Gagnon were the first and second stars, respectively, with two goals and an assist each. Stoia and Marit each added an assist to their goals while Matt Graham and Joe Deveny picked up two assists apiece. Brian Tallieu made 25 saves and was the third star in his pro hockey debut.

Denis Garfarov had two helpers for the Thunder while Kozlowski made 35 saves in his fifth-straight loss.

The Prowlers host the Watertown Wolves at McMorran Place on March 24 and 25 with puck drop on both nights scheduled for 7:05 P.M. Tickets are available at

Photo courtesy of Delta Imaging